My Implantable Loop Recorder

recorder

On March 29th, 2016, I had the above device installed in my chest. It’s purpose, to record my heartbeat in hopes of pinpointing the cause of the reoccurring arrhythmia.

This is a non graphic video of how it is installed.

On March 31st… Swelling has gone down where they put the loop recorder in. Now, when I run my hand over the area I can totally feel it under the skin. Very strange feeling. Still hurts a lot and starting to bruise but should be good in a few more days.

It’s amazing what technology can do these days. This thing is the size of a AAA battery and can hold up to 3 years worth of my heartbeat. It can transmit it through a device on my nightstand and send all the data to my Electrophysiologist via cellular signal. Pretty neat stuff.

April 18th… The loop recorder is clearly visible underneath my skin. I will live with this device for up to 3 years. Yes, it is uncomfortable under the skin. Just another reminder of why you should take care of yourself. If this is not enough of a reminder, this little device rings in at a whopping $28,000 USD. That does not even include the procedure to have it installed.

13055551_1329274447089819_8314587863820388486_n

Leave a Reply

