Sleeping after Open Heart Surgery

Ever since my heart attack, I struggle a lot more with sleep.
At first it was because I was in a lot of pain from the open heart surgery. Then, it was because I was wearing the life vest defibrillator thing and it was all sweaty and tight all the time.

Now, I have no idea what the deal is. I go to bed every night at 10:00 like I always have. If I take something to help me sleep, I might fall asleep within a half hour. If I don’t take anything, it is anybody’s guess when I will fall asleep.

Once I have fallen asleep, I have very vivid dreams that a lot of times seem to have common themes. I am either running from something or trying to find something in them.

I wake up between 02:00 & 03:00 every morning and cannot go back to sleep. I usually toss and turn for a little while and then go out to the couch where I lay there for what seems like hours. The Wife gets up and goes to work and I go back into the bedroom to try to get a little more sleep. This usually results in me getting about another hour or two of broken sleep. I wake up several times feeling guilty for being asleep but so tired it hurts to open my eyes.

I have tried Melatonin, magnesium, sleepy time tea, ambien, more ambien, Belsomra, etc., etc., etc. all with the same results. I fall asleep, I dream, I wake up around 03:00, etc.

So, the next step I think is to go in for a sleep study. Not sure what that will result in, but I need sleep.

Not asking for advice, not looking for sympathy. As always, just trying to let everyone out there know what happens when you don’t take care of yourself. If nothing else, I like to serve as a warning to others.

Leave a Reply

